home   |   А-Я   |   A-Z   |   меню

Zafon Carlos Ruiz

The Prisoner of Heaven

The Prisoner of Heaven Оценка: 1.9 (7)
Genre: prose
The Prisoner of Heaven is part of a cycle of novels set in the literary universe of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books of which The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel’s Game are the two first instalments. Although each work within the cycle presents an independent, self-contained tale, they are all connected through characters and storylines, creating thematic and narrative links.Each individual instalment in the Cemetery of Forgotten Books series can be read in any order, enabling the reader to explore the labyrinth of stories along different paths which, when woven together, lead into the heart of the narrative.I have always known that one day I would return to these streets to tell the story of the man who lost his soul and his name among the shadows of a Barcelona trapped in a time of ashes and silence. These are pages written in the flames of the city of the damned, words etched in fire on the memory of the one who returned from among the dead with a promise nailed to his heart and a curse upon his head. The curtain rises, the audience falls silent and before the shadow lingering over their destiny descends upon the set, a chorus of pure souls takes the stage with a comedy in their hands and the blessed innocence of those who, believing the third act to be the last, wish to spin a Christmas story – unaware that once the last page is turned, the poison of its words will drag them slowly but inexorably towards the heart of darkness.Julián CaraxThe Prisoner of Heaven(Éditions de la Lumière, Paris, 1992)

Rate this book  


Enter your name:     Rate this book

Enter your comments or review:

получать комментарии о книге The Prisoner of Heaven на e-mail

Anti-spam code Anti spam Capcha